Yes We Can Can

Among my favorite singing groups are the Pointer Sisters. My all time favorite Pointer Sisters’ song is “I Want a Lover with a Slow Hand.” However, this post is not about that song. I can’t type and fan myself at the same time. My friend SG sent me a link to a video on YouTube that made me think of another song by the Pointer Sisters, Yes We Can Can.

I know we can make it.
I know darn well we can work it out.
Oh yes we can, I know we can can
Yes we can can, why can’t we?
If we wanna get together we can work it out.

I love the rhythm of the song; I like to sing along and dance about the room when it is playing. It’s a feel good song with a feel good message about our ability to make the time that we borrow to spend on this planet meaningful.

When I watched the video on YouTube that my friend sent me, I felt the same urge to sing along and dance around the room. It is a unique production, a new, original music video that takes its subject from an ongoing presidential campaign. The frontman and a founding member of a contemporary group, Black Eyed Peas, who goes by the moniker of will.i.am, was inspired by Senator Barack Obama’s presidential campaign and in particular by his speech following the primary in New Hampshire to create a song that utilizes Sen. Obama’s words. will.i.am was ably assisted in producing the video by another young man, Jesse Dylan, a director and a filmmaker, and yeah, he’s the son of that other Dylan who characterized another age of change.

The list of performers in the video is extensive and includes familiar faces from the entertainment industry, but what made me take notice of the video were the words of Sen. Obama. His words inspire me and I feel a sense of optimism that we can do better. I believe that we can eliminate homelessness and poverty. I believe that we can ensure that no person in this country is without full access to quality healthcare. I believe that all children can learn and that public schools can ensure that every child receives a quality education. I believe that all nations can learn to live in harmony and that war can become extinct. I believe that we can, yes we can can.

2 responses to “Yes We Can Can

  1. You we can, but will we? I read about the rain forests going even faster than then worst estimates, I fear that is but one example of events having gone too far past any human attempts to rectify them.
    Still, we sure can give it a try, and I will most definitively be pulling the lever for Barkie the O-man tomorrow. I just don’t want everyone to blame him when the world goes haywire anyway. The strongest bandaid can only do so much for a gaping wound.

    Oh, I came up with a new name for your blog: Chez Ria.

  2. this is both quaint and brilliant. remembering that we can is definitely better than being stuck and thinking “why bother?”

Leave a Reply

